Snow Days

We have closed school this year five days due to snow days.  We are currently slated to end school on Monday, June 22nd.  Some School Districts missed seven days of school because of the December ice storms.  I don’t anticipate requesting a waiver from the State of the 180 school day rule. 

We exceed the total number of hours required at all levels, but you are still required to have 180 days of school.  If we have more snow/flood/ other events, we may reconsider the waiver. 

I would be interested in your thoughts on this issue. 

8 thoughts on “Snow Days

  1. Don’t go looking for a waiver. Just keep them in school longer ino the year. It’s not like you are going to have school in July. When I was a kid, we never got out until the final days of June. What’s the big deal nowadays? (Just don’t think of taking April School Vacation away- we have plans for that!)

  2. What about the families who have plans for the last weeks in June? Is it okay for their plans to be cancelled, but not yours in April?

    Personally, I feel that the February and April vacations should be cancelled and replaced by one week in March. This would allow for snow days while still ending the school year mid-June.

  3. We have many High School students that travel to Dover or Somersworth for part of the school day. So, we need coordinate with those schedules as much as possible. It is very difficult to change the schedule because so many communities have to agree on the changes. Thank you for the feedback, it helps.

  4. Apparently “A Parent” #2 enjoys my choice of username! To avoid confusion, I will try uploading a pic to go with my profile. See, Mike and Fred, my implications about the anonymity of a username has been proven correct, and now there is another participant, although an apparently disgruntled one, commenting on your blog 🙂

    Hey there “A Parent” #2, April vacations are etched in stone, an extended school year into late June because of snow days has always been variable. I don’t like it any more than you do, but plan vacation time wisely.

    XOXOX

    The original “A Parent”

  5. I am not disgruntled, I just wanted to make a point that it is not all about you. For the record, I take vacation in July, never a problem.
    Ms. Parent
    (hows that for a name change)

  6. Excellent! I registered, changed my username, and added an avatar.

    My avatar apparently belongs to me no matter what my username is, so my original posts as “A Parent” are now designated by my avatar, but the username has not changed on those few posts. I have changed my username to “alligatoreggs” as to not be confused with anyone who may want to post a comment using “A Parent.”

    “Ms. Parent,” I like your name change! You may want to keep “Ms. Parent,” since it sounds better than “A Parent.” I do hope that you have a wonderful relaxing vacation.

    Cheers!
    alligatoreggs

  7. Hey y’all. I have been away from NH since 1988 and I teach in an OH school that starts in mid July, has three weeks off in October, 2-3 weeks off at Christmas and a two-week break in April.

    Don’t wish away that Febru-break—its a long haul when you have to ho from Jan-April with only here and there days–then snowdays seem like vacations. We used 11 snow days here in Ohio becausese of Fall hurricanes and the governor said “Oh well, not my problem…” But at least we’ll be out June 10